Indian states that won’t begin Phase 3 Covid-19 vaccination today

Get Daily Updates In Email

Published by Sanika Abhyankar on 01 May 2021

Image Credit- Business Standard

Some of the Indian states have stated that they will not be starting their Phase 3 vaccination today due to the lack of vaccine doses available to them for conducting vaccination. The 3rd Phase is dedicated to vaccinating  people aged between 18-45 years.

The Union Health Ministry mentioned how they have so far distributed over 161.6 million vaccines to the Indian States and Union Territories for free. Maharashtra and Gujarat will proceed with Phase 3 vaccination Saturday onwards.

The list of Indian States and Union Territories who will not begin with their vaccination drive on Saturday-

Delhi, Karnataka, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Punjab, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, and Jammu and Kashmir have refused to start the vaccination process because of insufficient doses.

The Health Ministry also mentions that 10 million doses are still in the hands of the states and that they are yet to receive 2 million doses, which they will in the next couple of days.

Information source – Hindustan Times

Related Articles