KL Rahul out, Shubman Gill in for Test Series against South Africa; Rohit Sharma to open innings

Get Daily Updates In Email

Published by Ricky Tandon on 13 Sep 2019

Indian Opener KL Rahul’s inconsistent run with the willow has resulted in his omission from the Indian test team as the selection committee has announced the squad for the three match test series against South Africa that will start next month.

In the recent two match test series against the West Indies, K L Rahul could just score 101 runs from his 4 innings and that too at a mere average of 25.25. While K L Rahul has been excluded from the team, Indian batsman Rohit Sharma might get the chance to open the innings against the South Africans.

The notable new face in the squad is Shubman Gill, who was the under-19 world cup star for India. The chairman of selectors MSK Prasad said that Shubman Gill will be considered for the opening and middle-order slot. He will be considered as the backup for both the slots. M S K Prasad also told that as he plays more, he will be getting more opportunities as he is considered firt for all the three formats of the game.

The 20 year old Shubman Gill was always expected to be in the squad after the batsman top-scored for India A during their tour of the West Indies and he was also given the man of the series. During the tour Shubman Gill also scored a first class double hundred. The chief selector M S K Prasad also revealed that the selectors are also keen in giving an opportunity for Rohit Sharma to open the innings in Tests.

Here is the Indian squad that has been announced for the upcoming series against South Africa.

India’s squad for three Test matches: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill

Related Articles