Pushkar Singh Dhami to be the next Uttarakhand Chief Minister

Get Daily Updates In Email

Published by News Desk on 03 Jul 2021

Months after taking oath as Uttarakhand CM, Tirath Singh Rawat, resigned on Friday night. BJP MLA from Kumaon region, Pushkar Singh Dhami has been chosen to replace Rawat. Dhami is a young leader and have been leader of Uttarakhand’s youth wing.

It was expected that the Chief Minister post will go towards the most senior leader of the party such as tourism minister of hill state, Satpal Maharaj or legislator Dhan Singh Rawat but the post was given to 45-year-old Dhami. Pushkar Dhami will be third CM for the state in four months from BJP after his party won the state elections in 2017.

Former CM, Rawat, after resigning stated that he is confident that BJP will win the upcoming 2022 state elections. Earlier today, two national observers national general secretary D Purandeshwari union minsters Narendra Singh Tomar visited the state for the appointment of new chief minister. Dhami to be the next CM of Uttarakhand was announced by BJP legislator following a meeting, wherein 57 BJP MLAs met, at its headquarters, Dehradun.

Pushkar Dhami is expected to take oath as Chief Minister tomorrow at 5 pm at Uttarakhand Raj Bhavan.

As per the reports, Tirath Rawat resigned from the post due to constitutional compulsion.

Related Articles